h1

famous last words…confirmed

January 8, 2009

So I’m REALLY starting to freak out that maybe won’t get in to college.  Because while I’m certainly eligible, I got this crappy email that tells me: “yeah, you want a student loan?  this is your student ID, which you’ve had since before you were even sudo admitted.”  thanks for being clear, assholes.  I only have ONE WEEKEND to register for classes and get my fukken act together if I’m even in, which I don’t know, because they AREN’T BEING CLEAR.

Okay, thank you for your cooperation in terms of listening to a rant.  WAIT!  IT’S NOT OVER!  Some drunk fucker wandered in to our garage and started knocking things over!  Full story here.

But anyway.  Those it-should-be-easy-to-get-depth-targets-to-work-in-Direct3D last words?  Yeah.  Apparently, it can’t handle rendering to a depth texture, so you have to create a depth stencil render target.  But you can’t just use that.  Ohhh, no.  Apparently depth components can’t be reinterpreted without shaders.  This makes no sense, as OpenGL has had this capability FOREVER.  So it actually takes a simple pixel shader to copy from the depth target to a usable texture, a red only format texture.  Talk about clumsy and stupid.

So the long and short of it is that I now have to have two classes of rendertarget, (yes, even for OpenGL as I can’t break unified API,) one for color and the other for depth.  In OpenGL, it’s actually the same class with two settings.  In Direct3D, it’s two seperate classes.  pfft.  I don’t like it, but I’m pleased to say that the actual API needs only ONE outwardly apparent change.  The CreateRenderTargetTexture() method now has a new argument: targetmode, which can be RAVEN_RENDER_TARGET_COLOR or RAVEN_RENDER_TARGET_DEPTH.  The rest is transparent.

Sooo… yeah.  Workin’ on it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

