h1

more freedom in font rendering / cool menus

September 13, 2008

I’m rewriting the font and text code to do the following:

  • No more display lists; render on-the-fly.
  • Instead store glyph metrics to use for draw functions.
  • Add some drawing effects, as enabled by this new on-the-fly freedom.

I’ll post some screenshots of this when I have (a) fancy draw modes for fonts and (b) the menu in place.

The menu itself is quite impressive looking.  It’s not finished yet, but did you ever play Metroid Prime Echoes (the second one)?  Well, it’s a lot like those hub menus.  I don’t care if it’s not original, what are they going to do, sue me?  That’s not intellectual property.  Those things are hella coolz0rz.  I can’t beleive I said that.  KTHXBYE!

Leave a Reply

