h1

time of impact islands + talk presentation thingy

October 23, 2008

HEY HEY HEY HEY HEY HEY HEY HEY *gets smacked down*

GUESS THE FUCK WHAT?

You’re not guessing.  I’ll tell you!  I’m actually giving a talk at Columbia College about my physics project.  Here’s essentially what I got off Dr. Liow.  Dr. Liow is probably one of the best people to recognize anything you do, because he seems like he’d be honest if he didn’t like what you’ve done.  In an email he was all: “Your program is interesting.  Do you want to give a talk about it during lunch, blabitty bloo, blabitty bloo, blabitty bloo, it’s totally unofficial, blabitty bloo, it’s in a room with some people, blabitty bloo, blabitty bloo, this is totally gonna be like a presentation during lunch so omg r u interested?”  Man, I hope he doesn’t read that.  Meh, I don’t really care.  Anyway, I was all “shit yeah” and he’s all “omg I haven’t even checked my email yet so I haven’t responded yet.”  So I’m still waiting for a reply.  But I’m psyched, and I really like the idea of publicising my physics engine, if even on a local scale, so I’m definitely going to be there.  I’m gonna make slides, demos, tacos, nachos, and paper mache!  Okay, actually just slides and demos.  Can you tell I’m giddy?  Huh?  Is it showing?  ANSWER ME!  YAAAAAAAYYYYY!!!!!!!!

This is pretty awesome.  All I’m sayin’.

NOW.  On the topic of actual work that I’m doing on physics.  You may have thought about time of impact and how it would slow everything down.  You’re damn right it will.  The question is, how can we optimize it as much as possible?  In the most accurate TOI model, you find the pending collision with the smallest TOI, advance by that amount, (of course setting a minimum fraction of total timestep so we don’t get stuck at toi==0.0 forever,) handle collisions normally, run the impulse solver, and repeat until the timestep is done.  But what about Joe McStranded off in the distance who won’t collide with anyone for at least a dozen frames?  Should we waste time sub stepping him?  NO.

The solution: islands.  This is a technique I am shamelessly stealing from Bullet Physics.  But we all stand on the shoulders of giants, right?  Anyway, an island is essentially a field of objects which will all interact with one another in the next frame.  An island of objects are all linked by constraints, contacts, and bounding box sweeps.  Anything which may collide with other bodies in the island or be affected by a body in the island is in, basically. This means the loners are all omitted from the expensive sub steps in time of impact solving, and this also means smaller islands who will do less sub steps than the bigger ones.

So, as for sweep algorithms, I have circles down, and I’m trying to do the MSA-sweep now.  I’m not exactly sure of how it will turn out on rotating bodies, as I’ve said before.  I may wind up using the conservative advancement method.  I’ve said this before, I’m just rehashing it.

Think about using islands in your own work.

5 comments

  1. That’s awesome dude… My advice is: WORK THE DAMN SYSTEM. I mean if you make the right moves, play the game, you can coast through college on scholarships… FREE.

    Telling you… work it. Don’t be like me… super slacker…


  2. You’re not a super slacker. I don’t feel like working the system. How I roll is… be an arrogant genius in their presence. It’s working so far, I already have a talk, and I’m just seventeen. Pretty sweet.


  3. Thats freaking sweet. I should try the arrogant genius angle to see where it gets me 🙂


  4. Perhaps. Just don’t come across as really arrogant. I just mean that I showed the more advanced stuff I was doing in a very self confident way. Everyone seems somehow impressed that a 17 yo could write a physics engine completely independently.


  5. You well I can do confident. You know i crap i have to do on my course(GameMaker) so my teachers are impressed if you can do hello world in c++ 🙂



Leave a Reply

