h1

interwebs are back! new laptop arrived! CAMERAS!

November 27, 2008

YYYAAAAAAAaHHHHHHHHH!  I’M FREE!  AFK FTW BBQ ROLFMAOCOPTERSAUCE

afk is a fairly disgusting statement.  It was coined by a friend who thought there should be texting abbreviation for anally fucking kittens.  He came up with it.  Not me.  Though it does make a great expletive.  gggrrrraaAAAHHH!  ANALLY FUCKING KITTENS, THIS SUCKS!  Packs a punch.

Now that I have full access to ye olde intarwebz0rz again, allow me to fill you in: my new laptop is here.  Yes here.  Not almost here, ACTUALLY HERE!  It runs Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid perfectly, and Windows Vista because if I take it off I’ll lose the software license.  Microsoft bitches.

I have tested my stuff under Vista though, and I was pleasantly surprised that it ran!  My code has always been very raw and portable, something I am very proud of.  It also runs on Ubuntu Intrepid just fine.  Actually, better than anywhere else, because this is an AMD64 (Athlon64X2) machine.  It came with 32-bit Windows, which makes no sense to me, it’s like putting two toilets in an apartment with only one ass.  But the Ubuntu half is full on 64-bit, and I have to say it’s a big improvement, especially since this baby is dual core.  Multitasking!  Also, the physics engine has a build now just for 64-bit GNU/Linux, available through both GNU Make and C::B projects.  It’s really fast on this machine, and this build is always double precision too, because of the 64 bittage!

Here’s a screenshot of the pyramid example running on the laptop:

yoink!

yoink!

Yeah.  Now look at the zooming in on the frame rate:

pyramid_explosion_frameratesplosion

WHOA!  FFFFAAAASSSSSSSTTTTTT.

Okay, that’s about it.

But hey, webcam fun! 🙂  LOOOOKIIIT

T3H BAANNGGING OF T3H HEDZ M3TUHLZ

T3H BAANNGGING OF T3H HEDZ P0R M3TUHLZ!!!111!!1!1!!

Yes, the laptop has a webcam to.  Camgasm that’s awesome.

Oh, wait!  I’ve also just been messing around with shaders, because my laptop can actually handle this shit!  This is my phong lighting shader.  I have it split in to ambient and diffuse/specular passes, so that luminance occlusion multipass shadows can be easily integrated.  I’m working on a shadow mapper right now.  But anyway, last picture:

phong_perfrag_lighting

See all y’alls!

One comment

  1. Nice shaders! So its safe to assume FBO support:)
    I haven’t even started my shader stuff yet cause I don’t have to even though my engine supports shaders lol



Leave a Reply

