h1

halflifin’ it! aaand HDR?

December 13, 2008

Yeah, I’m playin’ HL2.  HL2: ep1.  HL2: ep2.  YAAAAAHHOOOOO!  It runs on the laptop!  This is why I’ve dropped off the grid the past few days.  It was pretty cool.  Still waiting for HL2:ep2 to download though.  256Kb connection lol.

RIGHT-O.  So I’ve also been playing with the idea of HDR, and it’s not that hard!  I’ve gotten my engine working with the following:

– vertex buffers (VBO OpenGL, FVF D3D9)

– render target textures (FBO OpenGL, ? D3D9)

– all the basics aside from this HW L&T, etc.

That’s all I need for HDR!  If the card supports floating point formats, you just render the scene to a float texture, then render that to another texture using a hi-pass filter.  Render that to yet another buffer with a gaussian blur filter, then render the original scene’s texture followed by the blurred hi-pass texture, with the result of bloomed over bright values!  Imma workin’ on it.

4 comments

  1. are you only exaggerating bright values or darkening dark values too?

    And did you use my code? 🙂


  2. brightening only for now. I have a really good hi-pass shader working. I’ll post screenies tomorrow. 🙂


  3. what no screenies with immense shininess 😦


    • YES TOO. I MAKES IT ON TIME. 8:30 PM OVER HERE. SO THERE BITCH. I GETS THEM UP ON TIME TOO SO HA. NARM.



Leave a Reply

