h1

straight up hdr for shizzle

December 15, 2008

Here’s one I came up with this morning: reality is to the mind as television is to the eyes.   Oh man, I know that shit was too deep for you.  Sucker.  Seriously though, ponder that.  You should read about the psychological registers of reality.

Yeah. Yeah. I’ve got this HDR under control. The test app is kinda hacked together, but that’s okay, when I add the option to the scene manager to turn HDR on/off, it will be much better. But there is a totally balling video (oh yeah, I said balling. I went there. Yep. Oh. Yes.) on ye grande olde intarwebs, and it may be enjoyed via eyeballs at the location below this text type symbol cluster. Hya!

There is a text line in the video (a bit blurred by compression sorry for quality) that should say when HDR is enabled and when it isn’t. It’s exaggerated for this example, but will be done in more moderation for a game. It shows non HDR first and at the very end so you can compare.

It really adds to the feeling of being extremely bright!  But, unlike in many games, to be truly convincing it must be used IN MODERATION.  I can’t stress this enough.  And while I bash over-use of bloom,  I might as well point out that not everything in the whole world is gloss shiny.  Especially not dirt.  Seriously, just because it’s a new graphics technique doesn’t mean you have to use it on everything.  The only one that counts for is multisampling.  That DOES make everything look better.

7 comments

  1. Looks really shiny and cool!
    AND YOU LIED!!! you posted this after 24 hours.


  2. That second part about you lying ya know up there ^^ its retarded 🙂

    It’s like 3:28am here so my mind can only handle programming related things 🙂


    • I technically said “sometime tomorrow” not “within a day” so that can exceed 24 hours as long as both are within the period of a pair of adjacent days. OOOOOOO. ur mom lawl. It can actually be up to 48 hours.


  3. Thats why I said it was retarded 🙂


    • I know. Just stringing you along. 🙂 Anyway, the code is up for grabs if you want it, just look at my repository. The test app has the HDR example put together, and it uses the OpenGL stuff like FBOs and VBOs and shader programs behind the scenes, so it can have a D3D9/10 counterpart any time I feel like it, seeing as how well I designed the abstract classes. Yeah, Imma G like dat foo. Not terribly impressive to YOU but hey, C++ is a bit rusty here so I’m proud of it. ^_^


  4. “Not terribly impressive to YOU” your wrong there. It is fucking sweet! Got some leet codez there!!11!one 😉

    And even though your C++ is rusty you did a brilliant job!

    Oh and so there is no misunderstanding for whatever reason, I’m being 100% serious *gives a most epic thumbs up*


    • YAY I FEEL APPRECIATED! 8)



Leave a Reply

