h1

new artwork – Anima Supremacist

December 23, 2008

I have slaved for…time…or something like that, to bring you all a new piece of artwork! I haven’t been in a terribly artistic mood for quite a long while, probably not since before I started this blog! Well. I am now officially done with a new piece. The first piece to be posted on the intarwebs really. Be kind.

It is called Anima Supremacist. I was thinking about Jungian psychology again, and I do that quite often as the crazy parts tend to apply to me, (PTSD here yay,) when I had an idea for a picture. Basically it would be kind of an archetypal breakdown of the concept of the Anima or Animus destroying the mask of our selves, the False Self. The self is basically characterized by Jung as the Anima (masculine) or Animus (feminine) and each of us have both, a man’s feminine side and a woman’s masculine side.  The False Self is quite simply an impostor Anima generated for the purpose of politics, left hemisphere communication which mostly involves language skills, fabrication, and parroting. The False Self is especially necessary in a closed in and unkind society wherein conformity is required, and even to a small extent in simple social exchanges such as the common:

Dude 1: How are you?

Dude 2: Fine.

Dude 2 may have been miserable, but more important than the communique of the Anima is the socially conformant dialogue, so there is no social faux paw.  I must admit, I DETEST this kind of cheap talk with no meaning or content that is required to exist in a society.  My perfect world is one where we are all wetwired in to a server hub which can relay pure data untranslated from one brain to the next, moving only concepts as data packets, and the need for language is diminished entirely.

But psychologists agree that there is such a thing as an unhealthy False Self.  I think it is a spectrum, where the mental health damage caused by the False Self is directly proportional to it’s size and control over the Anima.  Therefore I have worked long and hard to kill my False Self, and I think I am finally gaining some ground.  The phrase “be your self” is quite profound, and it kills me inside to hear it used by all these rediculous pop icons and teeny boppers when they really mean “be your self by asserting your independent ability to act like everyone else or you’re not cool.”  Of course this is THE EXACT OPPOSITE of being your self.  *spits*  I actually just spat right then.

But on to the artwork.  It’s this awesome eye thing consuming a comm tower. And before anyone asks me, yes, the tower was somewhat influenced by the Citadel from HL2.  Now, without further ado, the image.

Anima Supremacist by ~ninjarat1 on deviantART

I hope you enjoy it.  🙂

One comment

  1. Hey man, that’s some cool thoughts. (Yeah, that’s all I’m going to comment on it.)



Leave a Reply

