h1

wooo, fonts! and materials! and manga?

January 5, 2009

FONTS ARE FINALLY WORKING IN DIRECT3D!!!

They are!  There’s kind of a texture sampling issue with it, but that’s insignifigant, and they look fine.  It might just be shitty Direct3D texture coordinate precision I can’t do a damn thing about.  So here’s the screenies:

Direct3D 9 Test (fonts aren’t quite pixel perfect):

OpenGL Test (fonts are pixel perfect):

It may be a fencepost error on pixel ratio calculation that causes the font pixel precision problem in Direct3D.  I’ll fix that.  But hey, I can now finally get rendertargets working in Direct3D.  Then I’ll implement HLSL support with the same shader object class interface, and I’ll be up to snuff.  I’ll finally be able to start expanding the functionality again.  One thing I want to do is to add a streaming mode for vertex buffers so I can do dynamic vertex stuff.

Hey, did you notice the tasty per vertex alpha there?  The backface culling is disabled for this test, as it would keep us from getting this cool semi-transparent cube effect.  I have a boolean material setting in the material class that lets you switch between using material and vertex colors.  This is clearly vertex colors.

As you can see, I’ve also separated the specular component in OpenGL (using the extension, no multiple pass techniques unless it’s REALLY neccesary) in order to mimic the behavior which is default and usually used for 3D games in Direct3D.  The applications I develop for this should have as consistent and standard an appearance across platforms as much as possible, and this is really the best specular look (fixed pipeline wise anyway) for most surfaces.  If it’s otherwise, there’s always a shader for that.

I’ll have it all caught up on the Direct3D end soon.  At which point, further feature development begins.  Here’s something I want to add: Windows builds will use DirectInput for input.  This will allow me to code for my gamepad, yay! 🙂  GNU/Linux will use xorg devices for gamepads, same as all devices on GNU/Linux.  I may need to borrow a friend’s joystick to code for that.  We’ll see.

But hey!  I just recently started drawing manga again, which was my original art style.  I used to only draw manga, which I shifted out of at one point.  But I thought I’d make  another crack at it, and let me tell you.  NOT like riding a bicycle.  I’m just getting back in to it, this is a doodle I did just  a while ago:

I made this in The GIMP.  All tablet, no paper.

Yeah, I know.   Her shoulders are a bit too broad.  I don’t mind it though, the super feminized look is kind of rediculous to see in EVERY female character.  It starts to get redundant and unrealistic if overidealized.  Just saying.  But cool, no?

That’s about it.

3 comments

  1. Very cool 😎

    You know that you could just use SDL for joystick input. Just use SDL_Init(SDL_INIT_JOYSTICK). Also you would be able to add rumble support if you wanted, I think that got added in GSOC 08.


    • Would that support a gamepad? I’ve got a USB 360 controller that is quite nice, as it adds analog control to character movement. I know how to do anything with it in DirectInput, but I will have to read up on gamepads in X11. I know it’s possible, a friend of mine got that working. Anyway. I will go back to work now.


      • AND I REFUSE… REFUSE… RREEEEFFUUUUSSSSSSEEEEEEEEEE to link SDL for one STINKIN’ thing. Fuck no. Unless I’m using the WHOLE LIBRARY, I don’t use it. If I must use one thing from them, I’ll lift some of their code. In fact, I may just check their joystick code out.



Leave a Reply

